News Room

2013 Innovation Celebration Finalists

Innovation Celebration Logo

Champaign, IL

The Champaign County Economic Development Corporation, the University of Illinois’ Technology Entrepreneur Center, Research Park, Office of Corporate Relations, Office of Technology Management, and Office of the Vice President for Research, along with NCSA, Parkland College, Singleton Law Firm, Serra Ventures, Hanson Financial, Ramshaw Real Estate and Surface 51 are pleased to sponsor the Eighth Annual Innovation Celebration in recognition of those individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions, taken risks, and provided leadership to ensure the continuing economic success of Champaign County, the ongoing success of the University’s economic development mission, and the growth of entrepreneurial talent and energy in the community.

Innovation Celebration is not merely an award for accomplishment, but a benchmark of success for those outstanding individuals, organizations and corporations who are nominated and selected to receive this prestigious award. Additionally, Innovation Celebration serves as a tangible collaboration between the University of Illinois, Parkland College and the community.

Award Finalists

Innovation Discovery Award – University of Illinois Award

Yoram Bresler
Martin Burke
Jean-Pierre LeBurton

Innovation Transfer Award – University of Illinois Award

William P. King
John Dallesasse
Yoram Bresler

Innovation in Engagement Award – Parkland College Award

Winner will be announced at the event.

Social Entrepreneurship Award

Illinois Green Business Association (IGBA)
The I.D.E.A. Store
Illini for Kids

Entrepreneur Advocacy Award

Alex Ruggieri – Central Illinois Business Radio
Andrew Singer – U of I Technology Entrepreneur Center
Dennis Beard & Tim Hoerr – Serra Ventures

Economic Development Impact Award

Midwest Underground Technology
Champaign Organization of Developers and Engineers (CODE)

Entrepreneurial Excellence in Management Award

Charlie Li – American Analytical Chemistry Laboratories
Al Fleener – Surface 51
Chris Harbourt – Waterborne Environmental, Inc.

Longevity through Innovation Award

Rich Masel
Cobalt Digital
Waters Electrical Contracting

Student Startup Award

Autumn Berry Inspired
Oso Technologies

New Venture Award


The winners will be announced at the 2013 Innovation Celebration, held at NCSA (1205 W. Clark, Urbana) on Thursday, February 28, 2013 from 5:30-8 pm. To RSVP, learn more about the event, or view past winners and award descriptions, visit the Innovation Celebration website at


Carly McCrory, Communications Director
Champaign County EDC