News Room

2013 Innovation Celebration Winners

Innovation Celebration Logo

Over 200 people gathered at the National Center for Supercomputer Applications for the Eighth Annual Innovation Celebration on the evening of February 28th to recognize those individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions, taken risks, and provided leadership to ensure the continuing economic success of Champaign County, the ongoing success of the University’s economic development mission, and the growth of entrepreneurial talent and energy in the community.

Innovation Celebration is not merely an award for accomplishment, but a benchmark of success for those outstanding individuals, organizations and corporations who are nominated and selected to receive this prestigious award. Additionally, Innovation Celebration serves as a tangible collaboration between the University of Illinois, Parkland College and the community.

Award Winners

Innovation Discovery Award (University of Illinois Award) – Martin Burke

Innovation Transfer Award (University of Illinois Award) – Yoram Bresler

Innovation in Engagement Award (Parkland College Award) – Don Bergfield

Social Entrepreneurship Award – Illinois Green Business Association (IGBA)

Entrepreneur Advocacy Award – Andrew Singer, U of I Technology Entrepreneur Center

Economic Development Impact Award – Champaign Organization of Developers and Engineers (CODE)

Entrepreneurial Excellence in Management Award – Chris Harbourt, Waterborne Environmental, Inc.

Longevity through Innovation Award – Cobalt Digital

Student Startup Award – Oso Technologies

New Venture Award – Spinlight Studio

The winners were chosen out of more than 150 nominations.

The event was sponsored by the Champaign County Economic Development Corporation, the University of Illinois’ Technology Entrepreneur Center, Research Park, Office of Corporate Relations, Office of Technology Management, and Office of the Vice President for Research, along with NCSA, Parkland College, Singleton Law Firm, Serra Ventures, Hanson Financial, Ramshaw Real Estate and Surface 51.

Thank you to 40 North for producing the videos for all the winners.

Buzz about the event:

News-Gazette Article

News-Gazette Photos

Storify (#InnCel2013)

Champaign County EDC Photos

SASE TV Video (Awards Ceremony)


Carly McCrory, Communications Director
Champaign County EDC