News Room

2014 Innovation Celebration Finalists Announced


The Champaign County Economic Development Corporation is pleased to announce finalists for the Ninth Annual Innovation Celebration in recognition of those individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions, taken risks, and provided leadership to ensure the continuing economic success of Champaign County, the ongoing success of the University’s economic development mission, and the growth of entrepreneurial talent and energy in the community.

Innovation Celebration is not merely an award for accomplishment, but a benchmark of success for those outstanding individuals, organizations and corporations who are nominated and selected to receive this prestigious award. Additionally, Innovation Celebration serves as a tangible collaboration between the University of Illinois, Parkland College and the community.

The winner of each award category will be announced at Innovation Celebration 2014, held at NCSA (1205 W. Clark, Urbana) on Thursday, February 27, 2014 from 5-8 pm. To RSVP and learn more about the event, visit

Award Finalists

Innovation Transfer Award – University of Illinois
Dr. Stephen Boppart
Dr. Stephen Sligar
Dr. Scott White

Innovation in Engagement Award – Parkland College
Winner will be announced at the event.

Entrepreneurial Excellence: Social Venture Award
[co] [lab]
Dr. Fouad Abd-El-Khalick & the EnLIST Team – University of Illinois

Entrepreneurial Excellence: Student Startup Award
Miss Possible

Entrepreneurial Excellence: New Venture Award
Phi Optics

Entrepreneurial Excellence: Advocacy Award
Ray Price – iFoundry
Jed Taylor – U of I Technology Entrepreneur Center
Dennis Beard – Serra Ventures

Innovation: Economic Development Impact Award
Fox Atkins
Carlos Nieto – Nieto Enterprises
Walter Lohmann

Entrepreneurial Excellence: Management Award
Dan Cermak – Volition
Mike Folk – HDF Group
Bill Cope – Common Ground Publishing

Innovation: Longevity Award
Acoustic MedSystems
Pavlov Media

The EDC is pleased to work with the following sponsors of Innovation Celebration 2014: the University of Illinois’ Technology Entrepreneur Center, Research Park, Office of Corporate Relations, and Office of Technology Management, along with NCSA, Parkland College, Singleton Law Firm, Serra Ventures, Hanson Financial, Ramshaw Real Estate, Pixo, Pavlov Media, Meyer Capel, Busey, Carle, Martin Hood Friese & Associates, IllinoisVENTURES, Fox Atkins Development, the Illinois Small Business Development Center at Champaign County EDC, and the Champaign-Urbana Mass Transit District.

Carly McCrory, Communications Director
Champaign County Economic Development Corporation
(217) 359-6261