News Room

2014 Innovation Celebration Winners Announced

Innovation Celebration Logo

Over 250 people gathered at the National Center for Supercomputer Applications for the Ninth Annual Innovation Celebration on the evening of February 27th to recognize those individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions, taken risks, and provided leadership to ensure the continuing economic success of Champaign County, the ongoing success of the University’s economic development mission, and the growth of entrepreneurial talent and energy in the community.

Innovation Celebration is not merely an award for accomplishment, but a benchmark of success for those outstanding individuals, organizations and corporations who are nominated and selected to receive this prestigious award. Additionally, Innovation Celebration serves as a tangible collaboration between the University of Illinois, Parkland College and the community.

The winners were chosen out of more than 125 nominations.

Award Winners

Innovation Transfer Award – University of Illinois
Dr. Stephen Boppart

Innovation in Engagement Award – Parkland College
Kerris Lee

Entrepreneurial Excellence: Social Venture Award
Dr. Fouad Abd-El-Khalick & the EnLIST Team – University of Illinois

Entrepreneurial Excellence: Student Startup Award

Entrepreneurial Excellence: New Venture Award

Entrepreneurial Excellence: Advocacy Award
Dennis Beard – Serra Ventures

Innovation: Economic Development Impact Award
Carlos Nieto – Nieto Enterprises

Entrepreneurial Excellence: Management Award
Dan Cermak – Volition

Innovation: Longevity Award

The EDC was pleased to work with the following sponsors of Innovation Celebration 2014: the University of Illinois’ Technology Entrepreneur Center, Research Park, Office of Corporate Relations, and Office of Technology Management, along with NCSA, Parkland College, Singleton Law Firm, Serra Ventures, Hanson Financial, Ramshaw Real Estate, Pixo, Pavlov Media, Meyer Capel, Busey, Carle, Martin Hood Friese & Associates, IllinoisVENTURES, Fox Atkins Development, the Illinois Small Business Development Center at Champaign County EDC, and the Champaign-Urbana Mass Transit District.

A special thanks to 40 North for producing the videos.


Innovation Celebration winners to be announced Thursday night, The Daily Illini

Innovation Celebration winners announced, The News-Gazette

Storify (#INNCEL14 tweets & posts)

Prominic.NET Wins Innovation Celebration’s Innovation: Longevity Award, Prominic.NET

General Manager Dan Cermak Wins the CCEDC 2014 Entrepreneurial Excellence: Management Award, Volition

2014 Innovation Celebration Awards Ceremony [VIDEO]

2014 Innovation Celebration Photos