News Room

Innovation Celebration Finalists

Champaign, IL – The Champaign County Economic Development Corporation, the University of Illinois’ Technology Entrepreneur Center, Research Park, Office of Technology Management, Office of Corporate Relations and Academy for Entrepreneurial Leadership, along with Parkland College, Singleton Law Firm, P.C., IllinoisVENTURES, Fox/Atkins Development, LLC, Serra Ventures and Hanson Financial, Inc., are pleased to sponsor the Seventh Annual Innovation Celebration in recognition of those individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions, taken risks, and provided leadership to ensure the continuing economic success of Champaign County, the ongoing success of the University’s economic development mission, and the growth of entrepreneurial talent and energy in your community.

Innovation Celebration awards are not merely an award for accomplishment, but benchmarks of success for those outstanding individuals, organizations and corporations who are nominated and selected to receive these prestigious awards.  Additionally, Innovation Celebration serves as a tangible collaboration between the University of Illinois, Parkland College and the community that clearly establishes the power of cooperation and united vision.

Ten awards have been established, recognizing the various ways in which individuals and organizations have utilized innovation, creativity, and leadership for entrepreneurial endeavor and economic development in the community.

Award Finalists

Innovation Discovery – University of Illinois Award

Brendan Harley
Gabriel Popescu
Yi Lu

Tech Transfer Award – University of Illinois Award

Vijay Singh
Dave Kranz
Diagnostic Photonics, Inc.

Innovation in Engagement Award – Parkland College Award

(Winner will be announced at event.)

Social Entrepreneurship Award

IntelliWheels, Inc.
Avicenna Community Health Center
Sarah Zehr & Alex King,

Student Startup Award

Serionix, Inc.
Oso Simple Technologies
Effimax Solar

New Venture Award

Green Purpose, LLC
Sung Chul Bae
Nuvixa, Inc.

Entrepreneur Advocacy Award

James Economy
Liz Kellner
Andrew Singer

Economic Development Impact Award

Shahid Khan
Dr. Kevin Wan
Predrag Pega Hrnjak

Entrepreneurial Excellence in Management Award

Brian Jurczyk
Charlie Li
Pat Jeng

Longevity Through Innovation Award

Gene Zimmerman
Betty Brennan
Bill Cope

The winners will be announced at the 2012 Innovation Celebration, held at Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology on Thursday, February 23, 2012 from 5:30pm to 7:30pm, award & program begin at 6:00pm. RSVP and learn more about the event & previous winners at RSVPs are appreciated, but not required.